Nothing

but I saw him, in the flesh.

With a girlfriend-

I guess The App worked out for him.

And I felt not a shred of sadness,

not an ounce of jealousy.

Just surprise, that he still existed.

How sad it is,

that there was nothing for me to feel,

nothing for me to mourn.

How sad it is,

that nothing but my vanity

made me want him back.

How sad it is,

that I can name not one

whose return I’ve wished for,

because of who he was,

and not just because I like to win.

But I’ve won,

as always.

I’ve won the emptiness I longed for.

I’ve won at feeling nothing.

I’ve won

nothing.

-C.M.

4 thoughts on “Nothing

  1. jillianmrks says:

    This is brilliantly self-aware. This piece reflects my own experience so perfectly I think to myself ‘I could have written this’ Nice job, Celle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

