Laughter Lines

The laughter lines

that carve around your eyes

when you smile

give me a glimpse into

how you’ll look when you’re old.

Your slit-dimples will have ridges mimicking them

along your loose cheeks

and your hairline

will retreat from your temples in

with time.

I see you sitting on the other side of the couch

on a warm Sunday morning

smiling as I mourn winter

and curse the brightness you love

You’d probably suggest we go for a walk

and I’d pretend to protest it

but we’d both know I’d go just about

anywhere with you

as you did with me.

I’m not sure how my imagination

went so far

at the mere glimpse of

your laughter lines

but as I said,

I’d go just about anywhere with you

and maybe

the future

is one of those places.

-C.M. 

Leave a Reply

