Free

It used to upset me.

I was hung up on him;

waiting, trying,

hoping, crying,

putting on my best self, watching as he watched me

from his safe place, in awe of everything I was,

skirting towards the edges of himself

only to retreat to his self-dug hole.

But the truth is,

I could have shown him things and places and feelings

he could never begin to dream,

all within the comfort of his own four walls

and he knew it.

But he didn’t let me in.

And I continue in my freedom, dancing and laughing

and loving fearlessly

whilst he misses out on the places he can barely see

from his self-built prison.

See, it used to upset me.

Until I realised I was the free one.

-C.M.

Leave a Reply

